This Tender Land

On Sale September 3, 2019

Praise for This Tender Land

#1 Indie Next Pick for September!
Library Reads Selection for September

“Lively . . . Krueger’s enjoyable riff on The Odyssey will satisfy fans of American heartland epics.”

Publishers Weekly

“Richly imagined and exceptionally well plotted and written, the novel is, most of all, a compelling, often haunting story that will captivate both adult and young adult readers”


“A book you won’t own. It will own you. Long, sprawling, and utterly captivating, readers will eat up every delicious word of it.”

New York Journal of Books

This Tender Land is a novel that touches your soul and haunts your memory… Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn, and a tribute to classic American literature, readers should prepare to fall in love with Krueger’s cast of unforgettable children.”

—Pamela Klinger-Horn, Excelsior Bay Books, Excelsior, MN

This Tender Land is an epic story as big as the Mississippi River herself. William Kent Krueger has an extraordinary way with words and his storytelling pulls the reader in like a strong current. This vagabond saga has everything one could possibly want from a great work of fiction: thrills, danger, friendship, adventure, and an ending that leaves the reader sated and fulfilled. Anyone who likes to lose themselves in a great novel should get their hands on this work.”

— Mary O’Malley, Anderson’s Bookshop, LaGrange, IL

“Beautifully rendered and written.”

—Annie Philbrick, Bank Square Books, Mystic, CT

Behind the Writing of This Tender Land

Desolation Mountain

Desolation Mountain

Now in Paperback

“Krueger skillfully combines the otherworldly setting of the Minnesota wilds with Native American lore to create a winning mystery with more than a few surprises.” —Publishers Weekly


Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons


A packed house at Sweet Reads in Austin, Minnesota, for my appearance at the #AustinArtsFestival. What a fun crowd, and what a wonderful bookseller in Lisa Deyo!


“It’s no mystery why @WmKentKrueger’s latest is one of the fall’s most anticipated books. Everybody loves this guy.”

On the eve of the instant American classic, THIS TENDER LAND, @maryannbks provides the definitive profile of WKK for @PioneerPress

Laurie Hertzel @StribBooks asked 10 Minnesota writers to give readers a peek at their bookshelves: